Colostrum and Gluten Intolerance

Can celiac sufferers use first milk?

the Brazilian Caribbean

the Brazilian Caribbean

A search of the archives of the National Library of Medicine failed to find any reports of the presence of gluten in bovine colostrum. However, since it is a wheat protein, gluten or its major byproduct, gliadin, could appear in colostrum if large amounts of wheat or wheat products were present in the diet of the cows. There is no way of really knowing exactly what they are fed since many, many cows on many different farms are used as a resource for the colostrum.

There are several publications that address the issue of the presence of antibodies (IgA) to gluten and gliadin in human colostrum as a result of the development of food sensitivity in the mother. The implications are significant in relation to celiac disease, a deficiency in pancreatic enzymes that impairs the ability to digest some food proteins, like gluten or those from whole milk.

There is nothing in the literature that shows that cows develop a similar sensitivity, but if they did, the antibodies would appear in all fluids, including colostrum. There also were no papers evidencing that cows develop coeliac disease, which may prove very beneficial; the science however is still pending.

comments powered by Disqus